The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences Education (FPMIPA) is an academic implementing element whose job is to coordinate the implementation of academic activities in the field of Mathematics and Natural Sciences and Mathematics and Natural Sciences education. FPMIPA is one of eight faculties at UPI, tasked with preparing Mathematics and Natural Sciences teachers and MIPA scientists who are required to produce graduates who have high competitiveness in the era of globalization. FPMIPA was first established under the name of the Department of Natural Sciences in 1954, the Teaching Faculty of Exact Sciences (FKIE) in 1963, and was changed to FPMIPA in 1983.

After going through the feasibility evaluation process by the MIPA Discipline Commission (KDI), in 1998 and 1999, the Director General of Higher Education recommended the opening of non-educational study programs at FPMIPA UPI through the Dirjen Dikti Letter Number 910/D/T/98 dated April 15, 1998 and Decree of the Director General of Higher Education No. 227/DIKTI/Kep/1999 dated 11 May 1999. This recommendation for expanding the academic mandate is based on the demands of the community to meet the needs of highly educated manpower in the field of Mathematics and Natural Sciences and the eligibility of FPMIPA in terms of quantity, qualifications, expertise, and scientific activities of lecturers, completeness of laboratory facilities, as well as curriculum design.

After the opening of the non-educational study program and postgraduate integration, FPMIPA currently has 5 Departments with 18 study programs, namely:

Department of Biology Education

  • Undergraduate Program (S1) in Biology Education
  • Undergraduate Program (S1) in Biology
  • Master Program (S2) of Biology Education

Department of Physics Education

  • Physics Education Undergraduate Study Program (S1)
  • Undergraduate Program (S1) in Physics
  • Study Program of Master (S2) in Physics Education

Department of Chemical Education

  • Chemical Education Undergraduate Study Program (S1)
  • Chemistry Undergraduate Study Program (S1)
  • Master Program (S2) in Chemistry Education
  • Master Program (S2) Chemistry

Department of Mathematics Education

  • Undergraduate (S1) Mathematics Education Study Program
  • Undergraduate Mathematics Study Program (S1)
  • Master Program (S2) in Mathematics Education
  • Doctoral Study Program (S3) Mathematics Education

 Department of Computer Science Education

  • Computer Science Education Undergraduate Program (S1)
  • Undergraduate Program (S1) in Computer Science
  • Master Program (S2) Computer Science Education

Science Education Study Program / International Program on Science Education

With the existence of two study programs in one department, each of which produces graduates as teachers and researchers for the same field of science, FPMIPA in carrying out its educational programs uses the principles of "cross fertilization" and "resources sharing", so that synergy is built in the two programs.

Dean's Periodization

The following is the development of the name of the leader and position (dean) since its establishment until now, namely:

  • Prof. Dr. Garnadi Prawirosudirdjo, M.Sc. (1955-1957)
  • Drs. Syarifudin B. Hoesein, M.A. (1957-1961)
  • Dr. Rahmat Wiriadinata, M.A. (1961-1965)
  • Drs. Ir. Hasyim Soedarbo (1965-1969)
  • Prof. H.M. Abdul Kodir, M.Sc. (1969-1973)
  • Prof. Dr. Ratna Wilis Dahar, M.Sc. (1973-1977)
  • Prof. Dr. Ruchji Subekti, M.Sc. (1977-1985)
  • Drs.Yusuf Solihin (1985-1993)
  • Prof. Dr. Achmad A. Hinduan, M.Sc. (1993-1997)
  • Prof. Dr. Utari Soemarmo (1997-2001)
  • Dr. Harry Firman, M.Pd. (2001-2005)
  • Drs. Sumar Hendayana, M.Sc. Ph.D. (2005-2009)
  • Prof. Dr. R. Asep Kadarohman, M.Si. (2009-2013 & 2013-2015)
  • Siti Fatimah, S.Pd., M.Si., Ph.D. (2015-2016 & 2016-2020)
  • Prof. Dr. Tatang Herman, M.Ed. (2021-2025)